Friday, July 22, 2011

Order of Canada, 2001-2009

As of 2011, the Order of Canada has been awarded to 5,948 Canadians from coast to coast since 1967.

There are 113 women who were either born in Ottawa or resided in Ottawa at the time of their award or investiture in the Order of Canada (according to the Governor General's website). They are presented here according to the decade of their investiture. Please note that this group includes Ottawa, Nepean, Vanier, Kanata, Gloucester and Orleans. (to be updated to include 2011)

The decade between 2000 and 2009 recognized the significant achievements and remarkable service of 25 women who have a connection to Ottawa through place of birth or place of residence. They are:

Constance Backhouse. For her advocacy for human rights. She co-wrote one of the first books in North America on sexual harassment in the workplace. 2008.

Cynthia Baxter. For her dedication, expertise and philanthropy. Played a fundamental role in the success of the Community Foundation of Ottawa. 2004.

Jocelyne Bourgon. For her leadership that helped to bring about the establishment of a new approach to human resources management in the public service. First woman to be appointed Clerk of the Privy Council. 2000.

Barbara J. Clark. For encouraging the development of choral music across the country. 2001.

Mary Dawson. For her unique and integral role in the development of constitutional law and policy in Canada. 2007.

Marion Dewar. For introducing a number of improvements to the region's social fabric during her three terms as Mayor of Ottawa. 2002.

Anne Golden. For her many outstanding achievements with the United Way including record-breaking financial campaigns, as well as a significant increase in the number of charities that receive funding. 2003.

Charlotte Gray. For providing Canadians with rich and relevant connections to our history, helping us to understand how our past shapes the Canada of today, and for shedding new light on the important role women played in our history. 2007.

Shirley E. Greenberg. For her community building work to empower women to improve their lives and to further equality in society. 2009.

Marguerite (Grete) Hale. For being a pillar in her community and her lifelong dedication to helping others. 2006.

Francis Itani. For being a generous mentor to aspiring writers. 2006.

Michaëlle Jean. Twenty-seventh Governor General of Canada. 2005.

Huguette Labelle. For her extraordinary ability and commitment to public service. 2001.

Gisèle Lalonde. For championing and promoting Francophone society in Ontario, and founding the Association française des municipalités de l'Ontario and serving as its first president. 2003.

Elizabeth May. For being a respected voice for Canada's environmental movement for more than 30 years through her involvement with organizations concerned with natural resource management, sustainable development and the protection of global ecosystems. 2005.

Barbara McInnes. For enhancing the culture of philanthropy in Ottawa and beyond. 2008.

Marguerite Elizabeth Ritchie. For dedicating her life to the advancement of justice and equality. First woman appointed Queen's Counsel by the federal government. Founding President of the Human Rights Institute of Canada, and advocate for change and promoting the equality of women. 2000.

Ginette Lemire Rodger. For advancing the nursing profession and the quality of health care, and initiating a national model of nursing recognized for its innovative approach to patient care. 2007.

Roseann Runte. For her promotion of the Humanities in Canada and of bilingualism. First woman to be named president of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. 2001.

Mary J. May Simon. For strengthening ties between Canada's Northern people and the people of Arctic regions around the globe. 2005.

Harriet (Hallie) J. Sloan. For demonstrating outstanding leadership for 50 years and advancing military nursing and patient care. 2003.

Patricia Smart. For bringing new insight and understanding to the study of Quebec's culture and writing a pioneering work that is the touchstone for those investigating the province's literature from a feminist perspective. 2004.

Shirley L. Thomson. For demonstrating a lifelong commitment to uphold the highest principles of artistic integrity, and bringing art to people and people to art. 2001.

Pamela Wallin. For her excellence as a journalist, entrepreneur, diplomat and volunteer. Headed CTV's Ottawa bureau in the 1980s, a breakthrough role for a woman. First woman to co-anchor a nightly network television newscast. 2007.

Anne H. Wieler. For helping to improve the quality of life of countless individuals throughout northern Canada and around the world, and improve health care for Native peoples. 2007.

No comments: