Friday, July 22, 2011

Order of Canada, 1990s

As of 2011, the Order of Canada has been awarded to 5,948 Canadians from coast to coast since 1967.

There are 113 women who were either born in Ottawa or resided in Ottawa at the time of their award or investiture in the Order of Canada (according to the Governor General's website). They are presented here according to the decade of their investiture. Please note that this group includes Ottawa, Nepean, Vanier, Kanata, Gloucester and Orleans. (to be updated in order to include 2011)

The 1990s recognized the significant achievements and remarkable service of 33 women connected to Ottawa through place of birth or place of residence. They are:

Joyce L. Beare-Rogers. For her work in the field of edible oils and fat and helping to make Canadians healthier through her research. 1992.

Monique Bégin. For her influence on developments in the applied social sciences across the country, especially in the fields of health and education. 1997.

Agnes Benidickson. For helping to strengthen and build educational institutions, health and social service agencies and the arts. 1997.

Deanna Marie Brasseur. For being one of the first women in Canada to graduate as a pilot in the Canadian Forces and Canada’s first female jet flying instructor and flight commander. One of the first two women in the world to qualify as CF-18 pilot. 1998.

Olive Patricia Dickson. For her contribution to our knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal and Métis People. 1995.

Jennifer Dickson. For her artistic works that are treasured by collectors around the world. 1995.

Monique Aubry Frize. For her dedication to the status of women, particularly in scientific endeavours. 1993.

Miroslawa Gawalecwicz. For being the contact point for many immigrants over the years, helping them adapt to Canadian life while maintaining their culture and traditions. 1991.

Claudette Gravelle. For offering unconditional love and spiritual counselling to people in need, reaching out to and comforting drug addicts, street people, and persons living with AIDS and HIV. 1999.

Naomi E.S. Griffiths. For being an ongoing inspiration to Canadian women. The first female Dean of the Faculty of Arts at Carleton University. 1999.

Joan Fletcher Harrison. For being a distinguished medical researcher and teacher whose work has been of signal importance in the study of bone diseases. She co-developed the first method of measuring the amount of calcium in the body, an invaluable tool in the treatment of osteoporosis. 1996.

Karen Gerda Hnatyshyn. Wife of the twenty-fourth Governor General of Canada. 1990.

Naomi Jackson Groves. For being a leading art historian, patron, artist, teacher and writer. 1992.

Pauline Jewett. For her brilliant career as an academic, politician and social activist. She was the first woman president of a major, co-educational Canadian university, Simon Fraser. 1991.

Elaine Elizabeth Jolly. For her recognition as a Canadian authority in the study of menopause and osteoporosis, and raisibg awareness of women's health issues. 1998.

Rosemarie Esther Kuptana. For playing a significant role in securing for Aboriginal peoples an equal participation with other Canadians in national constitutional and political processes. 1998.

Trudi Le Caine. For dedicating over forty years to the development of the arts in Ottawa. 1991.

Janet Louise Lunn. For helping to raise the status of children's literature in Canada. First children's author to hold the position of Chair of the Writers' Union of Canada. 1997.

Flora Isabel MacDonald. For being a distinguished Parliamentarian and for being a leading figure in the movement to alleviate human suffering worldwide. 1998.

Ethel G. Martens. For being a pioneer in the field of primary health care, and empowering disadvantaged people in Canada, Africa and Asia to improve their lives. Is one of the first health educators in Aboriginal communities in northern Canada. 1998.

Nurjehan Mawani. For actively promoting voluntarism, open discussion of gender issues, multiculturalism and international development. 1993.

Judith Maxwell. For her significant contribution to public policy and the debate on economic and social issues. 1995.

M. Michaelena McLaughlin. For performing her senior secretarial duties in the foreign service for more than thirty-five years in postings most often characterized by stressful and dangerous conditions. 1999.

Helen K. Mussallem. For her powerful influence on nursing education and the delivery of health services, not only to Canadians but also to people throughout the world. 1992.

Freda L Paltiel. For her efforts in creating an impressive network of organizations that deal with the social status and health of women through her role as Canada’s senior advisor on the Status of Women. 1993.

Evelyn Agnes Pepper. For her leadership in various health organizations, and contribution to the health care of Canadians as a nurse in combat casualty stations. 1996.

Jean E. Pigott. For her leadership and determination in ensuring the use of resources for positive growth and change at all levels of government. First woman Chair of the National Capital Commission. 1995.

Suzanne E. Pinel. For her role in promoting bilingualism among both the younger and older members of the two language groups, and as an ambassador of French-Canadian culture. 1991.

Beryl Plumptre. For her active involvement as a consumer advocate for more than forty years in many crucial issues. 1994.

Marianne Florence Scott. For her expertise in developing collections and services has benefited all library users, especially researchers and scholars. 1994.

Shirley Sharzer. For helping to pave the way for women in journalism. Became the first female legislative reporter at the Winnipeg Free Press (late 1940s). 1999.

Irene Mary Spry. For her long and inspiring career as a writer, teacher and scholar, and for figuring prominently in the education of women. 1992.

Bertha Wilson. For leaving her mark on Canadian law and society as the first woman appointed a judge of the Ontario Court of Appeal and the first woman appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada. 1991.

No comments: