Friday, July 22, 2011

Order of Canada, 1970s

As of 2011, the Order of Canada has been awarded to 5,948 Canadians from coast to coast since 1967.

There are 113 women who were either born in Ottawa or resided in Ottawa at the time of their award or investiture in the Order of Canada (according to the Governor General's website). They are presented here according to the decade of their investiture. Please note that this group includes Ottawa, Nepean, Vanier, Kanata, Gloucester and Orleans. (to be updated in order to include 2011)

The 1970s recognized the significant achievements and remarkable service of 17 women connected to Ottawa through place of birth or place of residence. They are:

Ellen Aloysia Ahern. For her many contributions to national and community affairs through voluntary service and as a citizenship court judge. 1973.

Florence Bird. For her services in the fields of journalism and broadcasting, and as the Chairman of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women. 1971.

Joyce Bryant. For her dedication throughout her service at Government House during the tenure of five Governors General. 1973.

Dorothy Caldwell. For her services with the Federal Civil Service Commission for more than twenty-five years, and for her work on the Royal Commission on the Status of Women. 1971.

Sylva M. Gelber. For her achievements at home and abroad in the area of industrial relations and the development of women's rights. 1975.

Lotta Hitschmanova. For her thirty-five years of total dedication to the cause of the needy around the world. 1979.

Gabrielle Léger. Spouse of the twenty-first Governor General of Canada. 1974.

Mary Elizabeth Macdonald. For giving nearly forty years of dedicated service to Canada as a public servant. 1979.

Dorothy Macpherson. For her unique contribution in fostering the use of films throughout Canada in the service of the Arts. 1973.
Jane B.D. Murray. For devoting her efforts to the development of the Ottawa Little Theatre. 1978.
Florence O’Neill.  In recognition of her contributions to adult education and community development and her career as a teacher in rural Newfoundland. 1974.
M.A. Pauline Sabourin. For her dedication in the position of secretary, particularly for numerous Under Secretaries of State for External Affairs. 1974.
Anna Wilson Sharpe.  For her devotion for more than forty years to her profession as gynaecologist, pediatrician and medical officer of health. Her dream has been realized in the opening of the Eastern Ontario Children's Hospital. 1977.
Adine Tremblay. For her contribution to the artistic and cultural life of the city of Ottawa for more than 40 years. 1975.
Annette Walls. For devoted public service to the Privy Council Office under five Prime Ministers and five Cabinet Secretaries. 1973.
Maud H. Watt. For her contribution to the well-being of the Indian people of northern Quebec. 1970.
Cairine R.M. Wilson. For her invaluable contributions on behalf of needy children around the world. 1977.

No comments: