Friday, July 22, 2011

Order of Canada, 1980s

As of 2011, the Order of Canada has been awarded to 5,948 Canadians from coast to coast since 1967.

There are 113 women who were either born in Ottawa or resided in Ottawa at the time of their award or investiture in the Order of Canada (according to the Governor General's website). They are presented here according to the decade of their investiture. Please note that this group includes Ottawa, Nepean, Vanier, Kanata, Gloucester and Orleans. (to be updated in order to include 2011)

The 1980s recognized the significant achievements and remarkable service of 24 women connected to Ottawa through place of birth or place of residence. They are:

Moyra Allen. For her dedication to nursing education. 1986.

Suzanne Azzie. For her extraordinary compassion, sincerity and zeal to change the attitudes of many federal employees toward hiring the disabled. 1985.

Ruth Marion Bell. For advancing a very wide variety of social and educational causes. 1981.

H. Elizabeth Collard. For her diligent and meticulous research on porcelain and pottery. 1987.

Celia Franca. For founding one of the major ballet companies in the world, the National Ballet of Canada. 1985.

Laurie J. Graham-Flynn. For being one of Canada's premier woman downhill skier. 1988.

Abigale Hoffman. For being an athlete of international standing and her promotion of amateur sport. 1982.

Margaret M. Hunter. For her work dedicated to the welfare of Canadians at home and abroad through her work with the armed forces and as National Director of Health Care for St. John Ambulance of Canada.1984.

Margaret Wade Labarge. For bringing history to life through her writing of medieval history and biographies. 1982.

Renaude Lapointe. For serving her country and the status of women. One of the first women to become a journalist and then editorial writer of a daily French-language newspaper, she was the first Francophone woman to become Speaker of the Senate of Canada. 1989.

Sandra M. Lovelace Sappier. For her work to amend the Indian Act in order to reinstate the rights of non-status Indian women and their children. 1989.

Elizabeth Manley. For her figure skating career. 1988.

Annette McDonald. For being deeply involved in community activities in Navan and serving the Shepherds of Good Hope in Ottawa. 1986.

Patricia M. Messner. For her unique contribution to the sport of water skiing. She is Canada's first and only Olympic medallist in that sport. 1981.

Rose Eleanor Milne. For her expertise in restoration and gold-leaf work, stained glass windows, bronze casting, wood carving and steel and wood engraving. She is Canada’s official sculptor. 1988.

Helen J. Morton. For her contribution to science as a cell biologist and senior chemist. 1983.

Mary Catherine O’Flaherty. For serving the Department of External Affairs on several continents before being posted to the Canadian Embassy in Tehran in June 1978 during the Iranian Revolution. 1980.

Gilberte Paquette. For her remarkable contribution to the organization and management of health care in the National Capital Region. 1985.

Barbara E. Reesor. For her services in occupational therapy. Founding president of the Therapeutic and Educational Living Centre in Ottawa, the first of its kind in Canada, to rescue the blind and deaf from so-called retardation and open to them a new life. 1984.

Henriette P. Rouleau. For popularizing Canadian nutritional standards and promoting the consumption of home-grown agricultural products. 1988.

Thérèse Saint-Bertrand. For her dedication for 50 years to Ottawa region patients, specifically those who are alcoholics. 1983.

Zena Kahn Sheardown. For serving with her husband, John Sheardown, a member of the Canadian Embassy in Tehran, during the Islamic Revolution. (Canadian Caper). 1986.

Linda Thom. For her contribution to the sport of pistol shooting. First woman in the world to win an Olympic gold medal in pistol shooting, the first Canadian woman to win a gold medal in a summer Olympics since 1928 and the first Canadian to win a gold medal in a summer Olympics since 1968. 1985.

Carolyn Jane Waldo-Baltzer. For her contribution to the sport of synchronized swimming. First Canadian woman to win two gold medals at the same Olympics. 1988.

No comments: