Friday, December 26, 2008

Sue MacNeil

Research analyst, road safety, lobbyist

1947-2008; born and lived in Ottawa.

One of the first female driving instructors in Ontario.

Searched for better solutions to the issue of road safety and injury prevention.

Studied in Road Safety and Injury Prevention at Carleton University in Ottawa; was awarded the senate medal upon her graduation.was awarded the senate medal upon her graduation.

Interested in the research and development of road safety initiatives as well as innovative educational strategies at both the molar and the molecular levels.

Developed a series of seminars, courses and workshops for individuals working in the field of road safety education.

Developed a standardized on-road measure of crash potential for drivers.

Created a criteria for program development in 1989 that became the standard for programs to be delivered through the Road Safety Educators’ Association Inc. of Canada and the Driving School Association of the Americas.

Consultant to municipalities and government agencies to help return injured workers to driving and helped the medical community make more informed decisions concerning fitness to operate a motor vehicle within their patient population.

Worked with large vehicle fleets in helping them increase productivity through systematic intervention that is data driven and client based.

President, Little World Road Safety Services, and President, Driver Competency Assessment Protocols Inc.

Accredited with a Driving Therapist (DT) credential from Road Safety Educators’ Association Inc.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Margaret Trudeau

Mental Health Advocate

Became the youngest Prime Minister's wife in Canadian history, when she married Pierre Elliot Trudeau at the age of 22.

Author of two books, Beyond Reason, and Consequences; her third book will be published in 2010 (topic: living with bipolar disease).

Advocates strongly on mental health issues, helping people overcome the stigma of mental illness that often prevents sufferers from getting help.

Sits on the Executive Advisory Board of the UBC Mental Health Institute.

Won a 2007 Inspiration Award, presented by the Royal Ottawa Foundation for Mental Health for her work on raising awareness about mental health issues.

Will be awarded the Society of Biological Psychiatry Humanitarian Award, for her efforts to help people suffering from mental illnesses (in May 2009).

Honorary President of Watercan, a Canadian NGO that helps the poorest citizens of the world to access safe, clean water.

Monday, December 8, 2008

Abby Hoffman

Olympian athlete, Track & Field

Lives in Ottawa.

Born in Toronto in 1947.

At the age of nine, Hoffman was banned from playing hockey with a boys' team (there were no girls' teams); made a career in athletics instead, and participated in four Olympic Games (1964, 1968, 1972, 1976).

Chosen as Canadian Flag Bearer for the 1976 Games.

Became the first woman to serve as Director General of Sport Canada.

Was the first Canadian female elected to the Executive Committee of the Canadian Olympic Committee in 1981.

From 1980 to 1982, wrote a fitness column for the Canadian magazine, Chatelaine.

Helped to organize the first women's national championship in ice hockey (known as the Esso Women's Nationals). The Abby Hoffman Cup is named in her honour.

Made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1982.

Has been a Council member of the International Association of Athletics Federations since 1995.

Inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall Of Fame in 2004.

Awarded the Americas "Women in Sport" Trophy, selected by the IOC Women and Sport Commission in 2008.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Maureen McTeer

Author, lawyer, lifelong advocate of women’s and children’s rights
Wife of Joe Clark, the 16th Prime Minister of Canada

Born in Ottawa (Cumberland) in 1952.

Specialist in medical law; past member of the Royal Commission on Reproductive and Genetic Technologies (1989–1993).

Currently an adjunct Professor in the Common Law Section at the University of Ottawa.

Earned an undergraduate degree in 1973 and a law degree in 1976, both from the University of Ottawa.

First Canadian to be awarded an MA in Biotechnology, Law and Ethics from the Department of Law at the University of Sheffield in 2004; received an honorary LLD from that institution in 2008.

Among the organizers of the Esso Women's Nationals championship tournament for women's ice hockey in 1982; the Maureen McTeer Trophy, is named for her.

Ran as a Progressive Conservative candidate in Carleton—Gloucester in the 1988 federal election; to this day, remains the first and only spouse of a former Canadian Prime Minister to have run for political office.

Received the Governor General's Award in Commemoration of the Persons Case in 2008.

Michelle Valberg


Award-winning Canadian photographer, renowned for her soulful portraiture and stunning landscapes.

Began her visual arts education at the University of Ottawa in the Fine Arts Department, and is a graduate of Algonquin College's Photography program.

Owns and operates the only combined photography gallery and studio in Ottawa - Valberg Imaging.

Contributed her talents to countless fundraising initiatives for a range of charities in Ottawa.

Board member of the CHEO Foundation and the SCO Health Services Foundation and co-chair of Capital Talk, an Ottawa-based committee that organizes local charity fundraisers.

Self-published author; one of her books entitled Dare to Dream: A Celebration of Canadian Women showcases 100 inspirational women.

Received a Women of Distinction award (Arts Category) from the YMCA/YWCA in 2000.

Named Ottawa's Businesswoman of the Year by the Women's Business Network in 2003.

Was honoured with the Ottawa Business Journal's 40 Under 40 Award in 2004.

Received the St. Joe's Women's Shelter Quality of Life Award and she named Algonquin College's Alumnus of the Year in 2005.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Barbara Vanderhyden

Professor, researcher

Joined the Department of Medicine at the University of Ottawa in 1991 (Cellular and Molecular Medicine).

Joined the Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre in 1995.

Currently the Corinne Boyer Research Chair in Ovarian Cancer.

Was nominated in the Champions category for the Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada in 2007.